answers and (re)solutions

Here are the answers to yesterday’s quiz:

1. The members of this fake band were later in another fake band called The Folksmen. Spinal Tap

2. This fake band, from the show Full House, was fronted by John Stamos’ character. Jesse & the Rippers

3. Referenced obliquely in the books, this fake band played in one of the films in the mega-hit franchise with a song call “Do the Hippogriff.” The Weird Sisters (from Harry Potter)

4. The only two members of this fake band who really sang on the albums were Shirley Jones and David Cassidy. The Partridge Family

5. The plot of this movie sees the main characters travel to a future in which their band, Wyld Stallyns, are worshipped. Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey

6. The lead singer of this fake band appeared on “Late Night with Jimmy Fallon” in 2009 to perform the band’s signature song “Friends Forever.” Zack Attack (from “Saved by the Bell”)

7. Much like the Beatles, this fake band reunited on a rooftop for one final performance of their hit “Baby on Board.” The B Sharps (from “The Simpsons”)

8. This fake band was forced to play an even faker band at a film shoot. The fake band they were forced to play was called Cap’n Geech and the Shrimp Shack Shooters. The Wonders (from That Thing You Do)

9. This fake band was assembled for a 70s tv show, then became a real band. The Monkees

10. This fake band was fronted by record producer Jerrica Benton. Jem and the Holograms

11. It’s not George Clooney singing in this fake band, but bluegrass singer Dan Tyminski. The Soggy-Bottom Boys

In the category of totally unrelated news, this post represents 100 consecutive days of blogging. I’ve never run up a tally that great, and I’ll say I’ve enjoyed it. Resolving to blog every day has me looking at life a bit differently. And taking up an alternative view of life is always good for the spirit.

Also along with New Years resolutions, my resolve not to re-read any books this year has lead to me reading several authors I’ve never read before, such as Neil Gaiman, H.P. Lovecraft, and Richard Matheson.(1) I’ve also read a couple of newer authors: Erin Morgenstern and Gillian Flynn.(2) I’ve really enjoyed this experiment, though I’ll admit I really really want to re-read Thomas Pynchon’s Against the Day.(3) And in a few months it’ll be time to read Infinite Jest again. I might try supplanting that with Ulysses, which I’ve never been able to finish. I’ll just have to see what happens.


  1. Still on a serious horror kick.
  2. Oh Gone Girl. I liked you, then I loved you, then I didn’t like you anymore.
  3. I tried settling for The Crying of Lot 49 but was unsatisfied. The only Pynchon left I haven’t read is V, though he has a new book coming out in September.
Leave a Reply

