for better or worse: an open letter of sorts to my lovely wife, here on this first St. Valentine’s Day of our marriage

Hi Ash,

As you know, I believe that each us is the sum total of all he or she has experienced, combined with what judgements, wisdom, analysis, or lack thereof, is given those experiences. Since I can’t find the right words to tell you how awesome it is to have you in my life, I thought I’d demonstrate for you how different I am from the person you reintroduced yourself to back in aught-nine. Below is a list of experiences I’d have missed out of – for better or worse – if we hadn’t embarked upon this journey of ours together.

  • Happy food-dances.
  • Living with ten cats.
  • Nermal.
  • Taz & Cheyanne.
  • “If you can dodge a wrench, you can dodge a ball.”
  • “I’m Ron Burgundy?”
  • “Russ?!”
  • The drawer of candy.
  • That fried tots are way better than baked tots.
  • Inventing my own barbecue sauce.
  • My LEGO Millenium Falcon.
  • LEGO Star Wars.
  • Disney World.
  • Liberty Tree Tavern.
  • A Star Tour for two.
  • Tower of Terror, as many times as possible during Extra Magic Hours.
  • Fantasmic.
  • Every Golden Girls episode. Ever. Repeatedly.
  • Titus.
  • Call Me Maybe.
  • Yo Gabba Gabba.
  • The Small Potatoes theme song.
  • A random festival in Pittsburgh.
  • Trevor.
  • Xbox.
  • Skyrim.
  • Fair-lemonade.
  • Homemade fair-lemonade.
  • Many, many, many hours of walking around stores.
  • Heart-sharped pizza.
  • Five Guys.
  • The drive-in.
  • Camping, even if it’s just your parents’ back yard.
  • Watching my new bride dance Gangnam-style.
  • Mode-of-transportation pics.
  • A partner in photobombing.
  • That being upset about the price of steak is equal to being cheated the opportunity to wear sweatpants in public.
  • That two people and five or so cats can sleep on a queen-sized bed.
  • That staying overnight at your parents can be awesome even in your 30s.
  • Many, many moments with my family.
  • And yours.
  • Katy Perry.
  • Pink!
  • Countless iterations of “Don’t Stop Believin’.”
  • Rick Astley in a completely non-ironic way.
  • Hot dogs topped with mac n cheese topped with bacon.
  • The prettiest eyes I’ve ever seen.
  • Ditto that smile.
  • “Oh man you should have honked first! We could’ve had a free old lady!”
  • The very concept of ‘happily married.”
  • Air-any-instrument.
  • Knowing that playing banjo can be sexy.
  • Hundreds of pictures of you sleeping, even if that’s creepy.
  • A true understanding of the word partner.
  • Ditto the word acceptance.
  • Ditto the word fear.
  • Ditto the word peace.
  • TV-show theme songs I’d forgotten about.
  • That the theme from Dallas is appropriate for just about everything.
  • TV-show remixes.
  • “I’m right on the edge!”
  • Visiting the ER the night we got engaged.
  • The Lights before Christmas.
  •  A Boston creme pie.
  • The best laugh in the whole world.

I can go on and on and on. Which is what I intend to do. With you.

I’ll see you back here next year for an updated list.

With love,
Bo

Leave a Reply

