how i’m (not) using facebook

Like most people, I’d been back and forth on the issue for quite some time, and hot and cold on Facebook more or less since I’d first heard of it. Finally, after a lot of thought, a little while ago I announced that I’d soon be quitting Facebook. Yet, if we’re friends you’ll notice that my account is still active. What gives?

To explain that, I have to explain something else.

Back in the day, blogging was something of an art form. People put a lot of time, effort and even money into developing and maintaining blogs. Some were news blogs, some were political blogs, some were fashion blogs. And so on. But my favorite has always been the personal blog.

Reading someone’s personal blog can be just as rewarding as reading a good novel. You learn to know someone not just by what they say but by what they don’t say. You learn that what you know about that person is what they’ve crafted for you to know. And, if you pay attention, you also know things they haven’t put out there for you to know.

I’m a fan of personal blogs because I’m the sort of person who enjoys David Foster Wallace’s novels and Thomas Pynchon’s yarns. Because I’m truly disappointed that Sufjan Stevens gave up his quest to create an album for every state in the union. Because I enjoy playing Skyrim, will eventually play Oblivion and Morrowind, and, if they come out on a platform I own, will play Arena and Daggerfall as well.

I enjoy personal blogs because they are a long, slow quest toward completion.

This is why I’ve decided to put time into blogging every day. The Golden Age of blogging is long gone and I can’t bring it back. But I can certainly preference the long-form over Facebook’s short-form.

So I’ve kept my Facebook account active solely because most of the traffic to my blog come from the links WordPress posts of my account. That’s it. I haven’t been on Facebook since the end of December.

If you’ve invited me to an event on Facebook, I didn’t know about it. If you messaged me on Facebook, I didn’t read it. If you comment about a blog post on Facebook, I won’t read it. Though you can comment right here on my blog by clicking on the word-bubble-type-thing up by the title of each post.

Right now Facebook serves one purpose for me: blog traffic.

And I’m trying pretty hard to make this a blog worth reading. I’m starting to find blogging fun again, rather than tedious, which is nice. My writing’s not where I’d like it to be, but it’s still only January. It’ll improve over time. I hope.

But if not I’ll find some way to jump the shark.

One comment on “how i’m (not) using facebook

Leave a Reply

