stand in the place where you work

Today I finally received the stand-up desk(1) I’d been hoping(2) to get at work.

That's the face I make when I'm pretending to read and interesting library-related articles but really I'm watching various kinds of animals mate and/or eat each other.

That’s the face I make when I’m pretending to read interesting library-related articles but really I’m watching various kinds of animals mate and/or eat each other.

When I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia last year, I spent a lot of time analyzing all kinds of daily variables. I was trying to determine which behaviors caused more pain, or less pain. It didn’t take long to notice that the days I spent the majority of my time at work sitting at my desk generally lead to days of elevated pain.

Then one day I was on Tumblr and I saw that author John Green has a treadmill desk. This was a concept I liked, except I didn’t want to do all that exercise. I thought Wouldn’t it be awesome if I could get one of those and just stand at it, rather than walk all day? A little research and viola! I discovered that stand-up desks(3) are a thing.

So we’ll see how this works out, but I’m thinking it’ll go a long way toward reducing the amount of torso pain I’m in most days.

Now if only they made a desk to work against existential pain.


  1. As in, a desk at which I can stand, not a desk that, itself, stands or, in a figurative sense, a desk that is a dutiful and well-liked member of the community.
  2. -slash-crusading. *pounds fist over heart* I gotchu, Rob. I gotchu.
  3. See note 1 supra.
2 comments on “stand in the place where you work

  1. Pingback: sunday adverbs, vol. 18 | a heap of broken images

Leave a Reply

