the first official wedding photo

Our photographer posted a picture on Facebook today and, with the exception of the guy in the hat, it’s a rather lovely photo. I told you I’d share pics once I had them, so here you go!

And also while I’m at it I thought I’d post my favorite of the pictures I took during the reception.(1)

This is Ashley’s nephew.(2) He seemed to enjoy hanging out under the cake table for a while and I thought it was hilarious, because kids being silly is always awesome.

In other news, Ash and I have another week to frolic around Disney World. And while there have been many, many awesome things about our honeymoon, one of my personal favorites has been that we haven’t been blasted with political ads. I read today that half of the campaign spending on both sides has been spent on advertising in three states, one of which is Ohio. While I really do love living in a swing state,(3) by about July, the ads – print, television, and especially internet – have become a bane. So in this final stretch to November during a tight race for the office of the president,(4) I’m really glad I’m somewhere in which most available media is absolutely apolitical.

I’m not sure what we’re going to get up to today, but I’m thinking it might be a good day for the Food and Wine Festival at EPCOT. Which is why I thought I’d blog now, while I’m still sober.


  1. I was instructed by my new bride that I would be dancing. Hence, I didn’t have much time for taking pictures.
  2. It’s taking me a little time to adjust to calling the children formerly known as her nephews our nephews or my nephews.
  3. I have seen, in person, every president since Ronald Reagan, a trend that would be neigh impossible if I lived in one of the so-called flyover states.
  4. That odd syntactical construction there is due to the fact that I cannot bring myself to call this a presidential race. That adjective connotes a certain manner of poise and classiness that is absent from both contenders in the current race.
One comment on “the first official wedding photo

Leave a Reply

