pulled from a really good book

One of my favorite things about reading on a Kindle is the ability to take notes and highlight passages with a few simple clicks. It’s kinda like the quarter-folded sheet of notebook paper I would keep in my book as a bookmark, except without constantly losing the little quarter-folded sheet of notebook paper three days after I finish the book.

The Kindle saves all my highlights, notes and clippings in a text file that I can then access from pretty much any computer as long as I have the connecting cable.1 This makes it much easier for me to review and save the specific parts of a book that make me think, swoon, or that awakened my sense of wonder.

Today, O Semi-Constant Reader, I present to you my favorite moments from Douglas Copeland’s Life After God.

I thought of how odd it is for billions of people to be alive, yet not one of them is really quite sure of what makes people people. (pg. 12)

When I wake up in the morning, for those first few moments before I remember where I am or when I am, I still feel the same way I did when I woke up at the age of five. (pg.15)2

She tells me that at least when she was younger she felt lost in her own special way. Now she just feels lost like everyone else. (pg. 138)

These little things make us love people and yet realize at the same time how little we know them. (pg. 149)

And yet we know in our hearts that we learn the greatest and most profound things by breathing, by seeing, by feeling, by falling in and out and in and out of love. (pg. 153)

I have never really felt like I was “from” anywhere; home to me, as I have said, is a shared electronic dream of cartoon memories, half-hour sitcoms and national tragedies. (pg. 174)

A fast moving car is the only place where you’re legally allowed to not deal with your problems. It’s enforced meditation and this is good. (pg. 176)

You know—I’m trying to escape from ironic hell: cynicism into faith; randomness into clarity; worry into devotion. But it’s hard because I try to be sincere about life and then I turn on a TV and I see a game show host and I have to throw up my hands and give up. Too many easy pickin’s! Clarity would be so much easier if there weren’t so many cheesy celebrities around. (pg. 286)

I have this funny feeling that I wouldn’t have missed Earth for anything. So I must be getting something out of the experience. (pg. 315)

My secret is that I need God—that I am sick and can no longer make it alone. I need God to help me give, because I no longer seem to be capable of giving; to help me be kind, as I no longer seem capable of kindness; to help me love, as I seem beyond being able to love. (pg. 359)


  1. Which I keep in my backpack along with all the other cables I need for my other devices.
  2. Page numbers! Thanks to the new update we have page numbers!
Leave a Reply

