snow day!!!

During the time I was first a student and then an employee of the university1 I have never gotten a full snow day. There was one time in which afternoon classes were cancelled, and another time in which they progressively delayed classes throughout the day.

But I was already at work that day. In the end I think I got to go home maybe two hours early. Big whoop.

Today my dreams were answered:

SNOW DAY!!!

Initially campus was closed until noon. Around 10AM2 they closed it for the rest of the day.

Snow days are one of the most precious things about childhood, something seen rarely post-18ish for most people who aren’t teachers. I intend to hono(u)r today’s snow day as I hono(u)red them in my youth.

Here what I’ve done so far:

  • Watched the Today show.3
  • Watched the second hour of the Today show.
  • Had a snow-day celebration. Again, with Ashley.
  • Made homemade mac-n-cheese, at Ashley’s request.4
  • Shoveled some snow.5
  • Blogged.6

And for the rest of the day, I vow to:

  • Watch TV.7
  • Play video games.8
  • Take a nap, or at least lie around in bed.
  • Read.
  • Play guitar.

That’s it. It’s a free free day. A snow day. I’m going to let myself be lazy for a change. I’m going to let myself have fun like I did when I was a kid.


  1. Or merely Uni, for those Britishly inclined.
  2. 1000h, for those martially inclined.
  3. I really used to do this when I was a kid when we had snow days. Now I watch it every day as I get ready for work.
  4. In the realm of snow-day foods, this is perhaps only topped by grilled cheese and tomato soup.
  5. Mom never went quite so far as to make us do work beyond our everyday chores on snow days, but if we shoveled the driveway some before they got home she’d be less upset at how trashed the house was.
  6. While Fyodor Dostoyevsky had invented blogging by the time I was a kid, Al Gore hadn’t yet invented the internet. So I didn’t blog as a kid.
  7. Preferably cartoons.
  8. Preferably Nintendo.
Leave a Reply

