the great e-reader debate

For a few weeks now I’ve been seriously considering buying an e-reader. This may be a bit of a surprise to hear for those of you who know me. I’ve talked at length about how much I love books, the physicality of books. That the weight and feel of a book is reflective of how much one can learn from it. That a book should feel different in my hand than, say, The New York Times. That each book should feel unique.

I still hold to these arguments. Yet, I find myself thinking about buying an e-reader.

So here’s what I’m going to do. This week I’m going to air out my own mostly-internal debate here on my blog. I’m sure a few of you may have points to add or arguments to make, and please feel free. I invite them.

But mostly this is about my sorting out my own thoughts: there’s nothing quite like writing them down to help me sort them out…before I commit to fundamentally changing something I’ve been doing for years.

So that’s where I’ll start: the fundamental change. Tune in tomorrow!(1)


  1. Or don’t. Your choice, as always, is yours.

One comment on “the great e-reader debate

  1. Got a Kindle for Christmas. About two days after it arrived I was reading on the bus and had that moment where the device slipped away and it was just me and the words. The only thing I dislike is the lack of page numbers in ebooks. Everything else is better than expected.

Leave a Reply

