if you just smile

WordPress is trying to get bloggers to blog every day in 2011, and to that end they’re posting prompts at The Daily Post. While I’m not committing to this course of action, per se, yesterday’s prompt is something I can easily blog about:

Share something that makes you smile.

That’d be this:

Nermal's helping Ashley with her homework.

I took this picture about a month ago and it makes me smile every time I see it. Or even think about it. Nermal truly makes me laugh at least once every day. I know all cats are weird, but he happens to be weird in a way that’s funny.(1)

But what really cracks me up about this picture is something I didn’t even think about when I took it or when I posted it. Maybe you’ve already noticed…

That giant jar of Nequik.

Ashley is a chocolate milk fiend. While she goes on various and numerous craving-binges throughout the year, chocolate milk is a constant. The only variation is whether it’s Nesquik or store-bought chocolate milk.(2) She happens to be on a Nesquik binge right now, and it made it into the shot.

But like I said, I didn’t think about it. Giant jars of Nesquik are simply part of my daily life now. There’s pretty much always one on the table or the counter, or in the cupboard.

When I posted this pic on Facebook, I captioned it exactly as I have above. What makes me smile when I think about this picture is that one of Ashley’s friends, one she’s known for years, wrote a comment:

“Lol. So is Nesquik.”

That’s someone who really knows her. What makes me smile is that I know she and her friend used to be roommates, and I can hear in that comment someone else who discovered Nesquik to be a part of her daily life, who always had it on the table or counter, or in the cupboard.

What makes me smile is that as different as we become, we’re still the same.

Sure, maybe sometimes that’s not so great.(3) But what I love about things is how we carry them with us through out life. Ashley has loved Nesquik long enough that an old roommate picked it out of a lineup and made a joke about it. She’s in a different home in this picture, with a different hairdo and different glasses and even different lungs…but the Nesquik-love hasn’t changed.

As different as we become, we’re still the same. And that makes me smile.


  1. The exact same thing can be said of Ashley.
  2. I prefer he Nesquik binges because then there room in the fridge for things other than gallons and gallons of milk.
  3. Reese Witherspoon, for example. One marriage. One divorce. Another engagement. And an Oscar. Yet she still sucks as an actress.
One comment on “if you just smile

  1. The Nesquick was one of the first things I noticed ๐Ÿ™‚ That is one thing that I learned about Ashley that always stuck with me about her as well. She told me she takes her meds with chocolate milk like every day! I can see how this picture makes you smile, it made me smile too ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

